Welcome To Our Hearth

You know all those stories about how Canadians can go anywhere in Europe and be greeted with love and affection by all? It is all true. I have never heard an unkind or discouraging word about Canadians.

When I first met my wife I only heard her voice. I thought great an American to mock and thats what I intended to do until I found out that she is from Canada. In the blink of an eye I liked her because she is a Canuckian.

It is true that Canadians only have to sew a maple leaf to their back packs to get recognition. It is even rumored that less favoured nations have adopted this custom when traveling abroad.

An ex boss of mine spent a couple of weeks in London England a few years back now and as prescribed he dutifully wore his maple leaf pin. So too was just about every other person he met including the very Londoner tour guide. My boss had to know why and was told that it was a symbolic gesture to honour Canadians recently killed in Afghanistan by friendly fire. My boss said he felt himself tearing up and could barely choke out his thank you.

Why am I waffling on about this? Every Canadian grows up hearing these stories…Every Canadian believes these tales and 99.9% of them are true. But guess what Canadians had to earn that reputation. They earned it by shedding their own blood in war, standing between opposing factions through endless peacekeeping strifes around the globe. They earned it by being good, honest and reliable people.

So, next time I hear a Canadian bleating pathetically about continuing that tradition by letting in Syrian refugees I will point to this mini rant.

You wanna be like Trump or Cruz move down south. You wanna slam the door on the world to feverishly masturbate over how great you think we are then bring Stephen Harper back. If not then join me, a Canadian by choice, in welcoming the needy and desperate to our hearths; it is what we are all about after all eh?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment